Simplicity – Vision and Light

I feel that I’m searching for something in life. Something to fulfill who I am as a person. I want to achieve the pinnacle of success where I am intune with both my passions and my talents. However, its hard to get somewhere if you don’t know where you are going. I think the first several months of this year are going to be some of the most important in my life because I’m searching within myself to find where I belong in this world. I’m in the process of creating a vision inshallah. And in order for me to find out what that vision is and what my ultimate goals are, I need to first discover who I am as a person – my likes/dislikes. You think that this is something easy. At least for the longest time, I though the same as well. But its not. I was rather shocked last week to learn something new about my self (about my personality). You won’t come to these realizations until you go through an experience. If you don’t know what I’m talking about don’t worry – one day you will. Life is truly a journey of self-discovery and lifelong learning.

What I feel the Muslims of today are lacking is vision. We need to set goals and reach new heights. Of course nothings possible without Allah (swt); so be steadfast and firm in faith as you continue on your journey in life. Whether you are a working mother, a business traveler, a housewife, a teen or a college student, what I believe we all need to accomplish to make this Ummah the best it can be is 1) to be steadfast in our faith and 2) to have a vision. We need to have a vision that embraces the fact that Allah(swt) put us here on earth for a greater purpose. We need to have a vision where we are lifting society around us.

[Now I’m going to digress a little just to make a point and help you clarify what I mean.] For example, Oprah (I know you are probably like..what?.. read on to understand my point) is at the pinnacle of her career, she had the vision to become a top talk show host, she understood who she was and where she came from and she worked tirelessly to make it to the top. She isn’t self-made though. The term Self-made itself is deceptive. Don’t think for a moment that she was self-made or any one of us can be self made successful people. There are so many people around us that have helped us become who we are today. And as such, there were so many people in her life that helped her to reach her goals.

But as inspiring and remarkable as her story is, one sad truth that I took away from watching an interview she did in 2006 – she said that she does not feel ‘fulfilled’. Can you believe it?

The first thing that went through my mind when I heard this ‘is well – duh’! you’re not fulfilled because you don’t have Islam.You really don’t know what the future holds for you because you don’t know anything about the hereafter. Oprah is one of the most well known top 5 most powerful women in the world, and today she’s around 50ish, still wondering to herself – ‘Whats next for me?’. I’m not trying to be mean to her, as a person I thinks she’s wonderful – she has a great show where she tries to connect with people and help people watching her show lead better lives. (Don’t make the assumption that I watch her show – I don’t; I’ve only seen it a few times. =])

However, I think she needs to be honest with herself. One of the core themes of her long running talk show is trying to find Faith and hope. In all truth, many principles like how we should treat those around us, the concept of fulfillment and God, etc. that she mentions has striking similarities with Islam. For example, she said in one of her interviews that she believes that there is a greater purpose for her in life, she wants God (aka Allah) to ‘use her’ for a greater purpose. That is exactly what Islam is about! What is a Muslim? A muslim is a person who ‘submits to the will of Allah(swt)’. We believe that Allah (swt) has a greater purpose for us. And no matter how much we achieve in this life, we know that we will meet our lord on the day of Judgment in the Hereafter.

So I think I got carried away, this post was actually suppose to be on simplicity. Whether or not anything I said above deals with this topic is your own judgment call (it probably doesn’t lol). Recently, I’ve been very interested in grasping an understanding of why I get so excited when I see light. Yes, light. The most basic blessing that is all around us. In my chaotic world with classes, papers, exams – ‘light’ has just seemed so beautiful – so peaceful. For now, it seems like the only elment around me that has an inner peace that I’m attracted to – the simplicty of blessing. Allahu Akbar!

This entry was posted in Guidance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.