Building Iman & the Sahabah

Lecture by Shaykh Ahmad Mi’raj Riccio

The Sahabah: The Beloved Companions of the Prophet Muhammad (saws)

There are certain rights due to them:

  • Respect them
  • Obey them
  • Recognize what is due to them
  • Follow them
  • Praise them
  • Show enmity to those who harm them

Our love for Prophet Muhammad (saws) is connect to the Sahabah.

“Do not ask about what is in the stars, and do not explain the Quran according to your opinion, and do not insult any of my Companions, that is true faith” (Qadi Iyad)

Our Source of Iman – “Allah(swt) has made this religion triumph through them (the Sahabah). They are the means by which Allah(swt) carried the message of his beloved Rasul (saws) to the East and the West and if it were not for their piety and sincerity and diligence then none of us would have been exposed to guidance.

If you value that iman in your heart, then you must respect them because they brought it to you.

Prophet Muhammad(saws) will judge us with a clear heart – so never curse the companions or have anything negative on your minds.

Who are the Sahabah?
They are those who:
1. Saw the Prophet (saws) or heard him
2. Believed in him, the Prophet (saws) and his message
3. Died with Iman in their hearts

Allah(swt) gave rank to the Sahabah. Allah(swt) choose the best of people to be in the Sahabah. Allah(swt) chose the BEST, it is within the power of Allah(swt) to change the people from the very worst to become the best of mankind to ever walk this earth.

The Tabbayrine are those that came after and followed the Sahabah. Those that spent more time with the Prophet Muhammad (saws) have higher rank.

The Top 4 Companions are Abu Bakr As Siddiqi, Umar, Uthman ibn Affan, and Ali. Allah(Swt) chose them as the 4 Best for the Prophet Muhammad (saws). Abu Bakr is honored in the Quran Ch.9 Verse 40.

Prophet Muhammad(saws) said “I am not the one who gives precedent, it is Allah(Swt) who gives precedent”.

After the passing of the Prophet (saws), Abu Bakr was chosen as the leader, as the most knowledgeable. Abu Bakr become the first of the Rashidun, the Four Rightly Guided Caliphs.

Abu Bakr is a model of how to love the Rasul (saws).

The Ten Promised Paradise include:
– The Khulafah ar Rashidun (the Four Rightly Guided Caliphs): Abu Bakr As Siddiqi, Umar ibn al-Khattab, Uthman ibn Affan and Ali ibn Abu Talib
– al Zubayr ibn al Awamm
– Talha ibn Ubayd Allah
– Abd al Rahman ibn ‘Awf
– Sa’d ibn Abi Waqqas
– Sa’d ibn Zayd ibn Amr
– Abu ‘Ubayda ibn al Jarrah

Those that fighted at Badr, all the Sahabah who migrated to Medina and those that helped them.

This entry was posted in Guidance, The Companions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.